New? Start here

Start from scratch
  • Upload and store
  • Sync and access
  • View and update
  • Organize and search
  • Share and collaborate

Cheat sheet

Collaborate better

Work faster

Tips

See all Drive tips keyboard_arrow_right

FAQ

  • What types of files can I upload to Drive?

    You can upload any type of file to Drive—photos, designs, drawings, recordings, videos, and anything else you want to store.

  • How do I access my stored files on other devices?

    After you store a file in Drive once, you can open it from any web browser on any device. You can also work with the file using the Drive app on Android and Apple® iOS®.

    For example, if you upload a file to Drive on the web, you don’t have to upload it on your phone and tablet, too—you’ll automatically see it there.

  • How do I access Drive files on my desktop?

    With Drive File Stream, you stream your Drive files directly from the cloud to your computer, freeing up disk space and network bandwidth. Drive files are stored in the cloud, so any changes you or collaborators make are automatically updated everywhere, and you’ll always have the latest version. For more information on accessing your files, see Get started with Drive.

    You can also make Drive files available for offline access. These files sync back to the cloud when you're online, so the latest version is available on all your devices.

  • How much storage do I have in Drive?

    If your organization has G Suite Basic, you have 30 GB of storage across Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos.

    If your organization has the G Suite Enterprise or Business edition, you have unlimited storage (organizations with fewer than 5 users get 1 TB per user).

    If you’re unsure which edition your organization is using, ask your G Suite administrator.

  • What's the difference between My Drive and Team Drives?

    My Drive is best for storing personal files or files that you want to share one-on-one. Team Drives is best to use with a group of collaborators who are working on the same files. Team Drive members can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device.

    For more details about sharing, see Best practices for Team Drives.

    Some key differences between My Drive and Team Drives are:

    My Drive

    Team Drives

    Who can add files?

    My Drive

    The person who owns My Drive.

    Team Drives

    Any member with Contributor access or higher.

    What types of files can I add?

    My Drive

    All file types.

    Team Drives

    All file types (except Google Maps).

    Who owns files and folders?

    My Drive

    The individual who created the file or folder.

    Team Drives

    The team.

    Can I move files and folders?

    My Drive

    Yes, you can move files and folders around in My Drive.

    Team Drives

    • If you have Contributor access or higher, you can move files from My Drive to a Team Drive.
    • If you have Content manager access or higher, you can move files and folders within a Team Drive.
    • If you have Manager access, you can move files out of a Team Drive or between Team Drives.
    • If you want to move folders from My Drive to Team Drives, contact your G Suite admin.

    For details on adding files to a Team Drive, see Get started with Team Drives.

    Can I sync files to my computer?

    My Drive

    Yes, using Drive File Stream or Backup and Sync.

    Team Drives

    It depends on which sync solution you use:

    • Drive File Stream: Yes
    • Backup and Sync: No

    How does sharing work?

    My Drive

    Different users might see different files in a folder, depending on their access to individual files.

    Team Drives

    All members of the Team Drive see all files.

    How long do files I delete stay in Trash?

    My Drive

    Files or folders in Trash remain there until the user selects Delete Forever.

    Team Drives

    • Each Team Drive has its own Trash.
    • Members with Content manager access and above can move files to Trash.
    • Files and folders in Trash are deleted forever after 30 days.
    • Members with Manager access can permanently delete files before 30 days.

    Can I restore files?

    My Drive

    Yes, if you’re an owner of the file.

    Team Drives

    Yes, if you have at least Contributor access.

  • When should I use a Team Drive instead of My Drive?

    Trying to decide whether to add files to a Team Drive or to My Drive? Ask yourself these questions:

    • Are the files of interest to most or all members of a particular project team?
    • Do the files share a consistent theme?

    If you answered "yes" to both of these questions, creating a new Team Drive is a good idea.

    If the files are for a variety of projects, create multiple Team Drives.

    For more details about when to use a Team Drive or My Drive, see Best practices for Team Drives.

  • Can files and folders in a Team Drive have different access levels?

    Files can, folders can't. When you add a member to a Team Drive, you set their access level. That’s the level of access they’ll have on all folders in the Team Drive. You can increase a member’s access level on individual files, but you can’t give them a lower access level than what they have as their Team Drive membership.

    You can share individual files in a Team Drive with non-members (depending on sharing settings) but you can’t share folders.

    For more details about permissions and sharing, see Best practices for Team Drives.

  • What happens if I delete a file in My Drive or a Team Drive?

    My Drive—If you own the file you delete, it's automatically removed from Drive on all of your devices and on the web. Deleted files are moved to Trash. They still count toward your total storage until you permanently delete them from Trash. If you delete a file that you don’t own or that’s been shared with you, other people can still access it until the owner deletes it.

    Team Drives—Each Team Drive has its own Trash. Members with Manager or Content manager access to the Team Drive can move files to Trash. Files and folders in Trash are deleted permanently after 30 days or sooner if a member with Manager access deletes them first. Members with at least Contributor access can restore content from Trash.

  • What are the limits on Team Drives?

    In a single Team Drive, you can have:

    Team Drive

    Limit

    Team Drive

    Files and folders

    Limit

    400,000

    Team Drive

    Individuals and groups directly added as members (a group counts as one member)

    Limit

    600

    Team Drive

    Total limit of individuals (direct or indirect members due to Google Group membership)

    Limit

    50,000

    Team Drive

    Subfolders (nesting folders in a hierarchy)

    Limit

    20