New? Start here
Start from scratch
- Upload and store
- Sync and access
- View and update
- Organize and search
- Share and collaborate
What types of files can I
upload to Drive?
You can upload any type of file to Drive—photos, designs, drawings, recordings, videos, and anything else you want to store.
How much storage do I have?
If your organization has G Suite Basic, you have 30 GB of storage across Drive, Gmail, and Photos.
If your organization has G Suite Enterprise or G Suite Business, you have unlimited storage (domains with fewer than 5 users get 1 TB per user).
How do I access my
stored files on other devices?
After you store a file in Drive once, you can open it from any web browser on any device. You can also work with the file using the Drive app on Android and Apple®iOS®.
For example, if you upload a file to Drive on the web, you don’t have to upload it on your phone and tablet, too—you’ll automatically see it there.
For more information on accessing your files, see Get started with Drive.
What happens if I delete a
file in Drive?
My Drive—If you own the file you delete, it's automatically removed from Drive on all of your devices and on the web. Deleted files are moved to Trash. They still count toward your total storage until you permanently delete them from Trash. If you delete a file that you don’t own or that’s been shared with you, other people can still access it until the owner deletes it.
Team Drives—Each Team Drive has its own Trash. Only members with full access to the Team Drive can delete files. Files and folders in Trash are deleted permanently after 30 days or sooner if a full-access member deletes them first. Full access and edit access members can restore content from Trash.
some differences between Team Drives and My Drive?
My Drive and Team Drives functionality are the same, except for the following:
What types of files can I add?
All file types (except Google Maps)
All file types
Who owns files and folders?
The individual who created the file or folder
Can I move files and folders?
Users can only move files. Administrators can move folders.
Can I sync files to my computer?
This depends on which sync solution you use:
- Drive File Stream: Yes
- Backup and Sync: No
All team members see the same file set.
Different users might see different files in a folder, depending on their access to individual files.
How long do files I delete stay in Trash?
- Each Team Drive has its own trash.
- Files and folders in the Trash are deleted forever after 30 days.
- Members can delete specific files sooner.
Files or folders in the Trash remain there until the user selects Delete Forever.
Can I restore files?
Yes, if you have edit access or full access.
Yes, if you created it.
When should I use
Team Drives instead of Drive?
If users in your organization ask you when to create Team Drives, think about:
- Are the files of interest to most or all members of a particular project team?
- Do the files share a consistent theme?
If you answered "yes" to both of these questions, creating a new Team Drive is a good idea.
If the files are for a variety of projects, create multiple Team Drives. As the number of projects and teams increases, it can become difficult to find and manage content.