What can you do with Team Drives?

Google Team Drives are shared spaces where teams can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device.

Unlike files in My Drive, files in Team Drive belong to the team instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay exactly where they are so your team can continue to share information and get work done.

Note: Team Drives is available on G Suite Enterprise, G Suite Business, or G Suite for Education editions. If you can’t use Team Drives, contact your G Suite administrator.

What you need:

G Suite account

10 minutes

None
1

Set up a Team Drive

Start by setting up a Team Drive and adding members.

In this section, you learn how to:

1.1

Create a Team Drive

  1. Open Drive.
  2. In the left navigation, click Team Drives.
  3. At top, click New.
  4. Enter a name.
  5. Click Create.

Note: If you can’t create a Team Drive, your admin might have turned off this feature. Contact your admin for help.

1.2

Add members and set permissions

When you add new members, they’re given full access to upload, edit, and delete files, and to invite other members. You can, however, change member permissions.

Full access

Edit access

Comment access

View access

Can view files and folders

Full access

Edit access

Comment access

View access

Can comment on files

Full access

Edit access

Comment access

View access


Can edit files

Full access

Edit access

Comment access


View access


Can create and upload files, can create folders

Full access

Edit access

Comment access


View access


Can add people to Team Drives or remove them

Full access

Edit access


Comment access


View access


Can add people to specific files

Full access

Edit access

Comment access


View access


Can move files and folders

Full access

Edit access


Comment access


View access


Can delete files and folders

Full access

Edit access


Comment access


View access


Can restore files from trash

Full access

Edit access

Comment access


View access


Add members and set permissions:

To add members and set permissions, you need full access permission.

  1. In the left navigation, click a Team Drive.
  2. At the top, under the Team Drive name, click +Add Members.
  3. Add names, email addresses, or Google Groups.
  4. (Optional) To change the permission from Full access, next to Full, click the Down arrow and choose a new permission.
  5. (Optional) Enter a message.
  6. (Optional) If you don’t want to send notifications, select Skip sending notifications.
  7. Choose an option:

    • Click Send to send notifications.
    • Click Add if you don't want to send notifications.
None
1.3

Change member permissions

To change member permissions, you need full access permission.

Change member permissions:

  1. In the left navigation, click a Team Drive.
  2. At the top, next to the Team Drive name, click the Down arrow > Manage members.
  3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow and select a new permission.
  4. Click Done.
1.4

Remove members

To remove members, you need full access permission.

Remove members:

  1. In the left navigation, click a Team Drive.
  2. At the top, next to the Team Drive name, click the Down arrow > Manage members.
  3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow and select Remove member.
  4. Click Done.

Note: If you remove someone from a Team Drive, they might still have access to files shared in other ways, such as files shared with a link to your organization, or through group sharing.

2

Add files and folders

Now, add files to your Team Drive.

In this section, you learn how to:

2.1

Create folders

  1. Create a new folder:

    1. In the left navigation, click a Team Drive or existing folder.

    2. Click New > New folder.

    3. Enter a folder name.

    4. Click Create.

    Note: To move folders, contact your admin.

  2. Upload an existing folder from your computer:

    1. In the left navigation, click a Team Drive folder.

    2. On your computer, drag an existing folder into a Team Drive. Or, click New > Folder upload. Navigate to the folder and open it.

2.2

Add and open files

To add files to a Team Drive, you need at least edit access permission. Any files you add are owned by the team. If you leave the Team Drive, your files remain.

Add and open files:

  1. In the left navigation, click a Team Drive folder.
  2. Drag an existing file to upload it from your computer. Or, click New and choose an option:

    • To create a file, select the file type you want to create, such as Google Docs.
    • To upload a file, select File upload. Navigate to the file and open it.
  3. Double-click a file to open it.

3

Organize files

After you’ve added files, you can star important files, move files, and delete files.

In this section, you learn how to:

3.1

Star important files

Flag important files or folders to find them quickly later. Just right-click a file or folder and select Add star.

To see all your starred files and folders, in the left sidebar, click Starred.

3.2

Move files

You can move any file you own into a Team Drive, whether it’s from another Drive location, or from your computer or mobile device.

To move files between Team Drives or from My Drive into a Team Drive, drag the files into the destination Team Drive folder.

Notes:

  • To move files between Team Drives, you must have full access to the original Team Drive and at least edit access to the destination Team Drive.
  • If someone else owns the file, you need to ask them to move it.
  • To move folders, contact your admin.
3.3

Delete or restore files

Delete a file:

You must have full access permission to delete a file.

Click the file you want to delete and at the top right, click Trash .

This deletes the file for everyone.

If someone accidentally deletes a file, you can restore it.

Restore a file:

You must have edit access permission or higher to restore a file.

  1. In the left navigation, click a Team Drive.
  2. At top, next to the Team Drive name, click the Down arrow > View trash.
  3. Click a file and click Restore .
3.4

Search for files

Find a file in a specific Team Drive:

  1. In Search, click the Down arrow .
  2. Next to Location, click Anywhere.
  3. Double-click Team Drives and select a particular team drive.
  4. Click Select.
  5. (Optional) Enter additional search options, such as the file type or date the file was modified.
  6. Click Search.
4

Share and collaborate

Any files you put in Team Drives are automatically shared with members of the Team Drive. However, you can also share Team Drive files with people in your organization who aren’t members of the Team Drive.

In this section, you learn how to:

4.1

Share files

Just like in Drive, there are different ways to share files with people in your organization who aren’t in your Team Drive. To share files, you need at least edit access to the files.

Note: Your ability to share files outside the company may be limited by your organization. Ask your admin for more information.

Share files with individuals or groups:

  1. Click a file to share.
  2. Click Share .
  3. Add names, email addresses, or Google Groups.
  4. (Optional) To change the permission from edit, click the Down arrow and choose another permission.
  5. (Optional) Add a message.
  6. Click Send.

If you set permissions to view or comment, you can prevent people from downloading, printing, and copying shared files.

None

Email a link:

  1. Click a file to share.
  2. Click Share .
  3. Click Who has access.
  4. Next to Link sharing off, click the Down arrow .
  5. Next to the URL, click Copy. The link is now on your clipboard.
  6. Click Done.
  7. Paste the link into an email.
None

Share a link:

  1. Click a file to share.
  2. Click Share .
  3. Click Who has access.
  4. Next to Link sharing off, click the Down arrow .
  5. Turn Link Sharing on.
  6. Click the Down arrow and choose a permission.
  7. (Optional) To allow sharing outside your organization, click Allow external access.
  8. (Optional) To make the document searchable in Drive, click Findable in search results.
  9. Click Done.

Anyone who gets the link can access the file.

Note: You might not see certain options if your admin has turned them off.

None
4.2

Unshare files

Unshare files with your organization:

  1. Click a file to unshare.
  2. Click Share .
  3. Click Who has access.
  4. Turn Link Sharing off.
  5. Click Done.

Unshare files with individuals:

  1. Click a file to unshare.
  2. Click Share .
  3. Click Who has access.
  4. Next to the person, click the Down arrow > Remove.

Note: If the file you unshared is still shared with an organization or group that includes the person, they can still access the file.

None

Next steps

Try it now

Get more training

Access Team Drive files when you're offline, learn keyboard shortcuts, and more.

See Drive tips