New? Start here

Start from scratch

  • Compose and send
  • Reply to email
  • Organize your inbox
  • Find email
  • Create signatures

Cheat sheet

Collaborate better

Work faster

Tips

See all Gmail tips

FAQ

  • How much storage space do I have?

    Your G Suite account has at least 30 GB of storage across Google Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos, so you’ll probably never run out of space.

  • Can I stop messages from being grouped into conversations?

    Yes. Click Settings settings and select Settings. On the General tab, scroll down to Conversation View.

    • If Conversation View is off, new messages won't be grouped into conversations, and any existing conversations are ungrouped into separate messages.

    • If Conversation View is on, you can't separate the messages in a conversation. However, if you want to send a reply, but don't want it to be added to the conversation, you can simply change the subject line in your reply.

  • Can I recall a message I already sent?

    Yes. With Gmail's Undo Send feature, you can recall a message for a brief period of time after you send it. For more information, see our tip Undo sending your mail.

  • Is there a size or type limitation for email attachments?

    Yes. To keep your account safe and prevent viruses, Gmail won't accept file attachments that are executable files. There's also a 25 MB size limitation for attachments. However, you can overcome email attachment size limits by attaching files from Drive.

  • When should I delete a message versus archive it?

    Deleting or archiving a message removes it from your inbox.

    If you delete a message, it's placed in the Trash and then permanently removed from your G Suite account after 30 days.

    If you archive a message, it's moved to All Mail (your archive), where you can easily find it in the future using Google's powerful search feature. Messages remain in your archive forever unless you choose to delete them or unless your company limits the retention of your mail.

    Because you have plenty of space for storing all your mail (at least 30 GB), we recommend that you archive messages rather than permanently delete them.

  • How long do messages stay in Trash and Spam?

    Messages remain in Trash or Spam for 30 days. After that, Gmail permanently deletes them. However, G Suite administrators can still recover those messages within 25 days after the permanent deletion.

  • How do I prevent messages from specific senders from being tagged as spam?

    If messages from a sender outside your domain are being incorrectly tagged as spam, you can prevent this from happening by creating an email filter using the Never send it to Spam option:

    1. In Gmail, click Settings settings and select Settings.
    2. In the Filters tab, click Create a new filter.
    3. Enter the person's address in the From field, then click Create filter with this search.
    4. Check Never send it to spam.
    5. Click Create filter.
  • How do I create folders?

    In your old mail program, you might have stored email you want to keep in folders. In Gmail, you use labels to categorize your email. Labels are like folders, but with a twist: you can apply multiple labels to a message, then later find the message by looking in any of its labels. Learn more about labels in Get started with Gmail.