These guides use the new version of Google+.

New? Start here

Start from scratch

  • Set up your profile
  • Post and share content
  • Create collections
  • Follow people, Communities, and Collections
  • Create Communities

Cheat sheet

Collaborate better

Tips

See all Google+ tipskeyboard_arrow_right

FAQ

  • The new version of Google+ doesn’t have events. What happens to events I created in the past?

    You can still view your old events in the new Google+ on Android devices. You can delete events in the new Google+ on any device. Going forward, we recommend using Google Calendar to schedule events.

  • Can I use Hangouts and Hangouts chat in Google+?

    No. Google Hangouts is no longer available in Google+, but you can still start a Hangout and use Hangouts chat in Gmail, Google Calendar, and Hangouts. For more information, see Get started with Hangouts.

  • How do I get to photos in my Google+ profile?

    Generally, if your organization has enabled access to Google Photos, you should manage your photos at photos.google.com or the Photos app. If your organization has disabled Photos, you can access photos uploaded to G+ in the Album Archive.

  • Do I already have a Google+ profile?

    Maybe. If you sign in to Google+ for the first time and a basic profile appears with your name and date of birth (your date of birth is only visible to you), the G Suite administrator for your organization might have created it for you. You can include additional information, such as a profile photo, contact information, and posts. Learn more about setting up your profile.

  • Who can see my profile and posts?

    Your name, profile photo, tagline, and cover photo are visible to the public. Your administrator can limit the rest of your profile information to your organization. They can also hide your profile in web search results. Your admin can also restrict your posts to people in your organization, but you can choose to override this. Learn about sharing posts outside of your organization.

  • Why can't I see certain Google+ options or content?

    Your G Suite administrator may have set your Google+ access from Public to Private or Hybrid mode. Your G Suite account's Google+ access setting determines what you can see or interact with. Here are some examples of how your access setting affects whether you can see external (outside your organization) people and content.

     

    Private

    Hybrid

    Public

     

    Search for external posts

    Private

    No

    Hybrid

    Yes

    Public

    Yes

     

    Interact with external posts (+1, comment, etc.)

    Private

    No

    Hybrid

    No

    Public

    Yes

     

    Join external communities

    Private

    No

    Hybrid

    Yes, but with no interaction

    Public

    Yes

     

    See content from external people and communities you already follow or belong to

    Private

    Yes

    Hybrid

    Yes

    Public

    Yes

     

    Create new external communities

    Private

    No

    Hybrid

    No

    Public

    Yes

     

    Maintain external community memberships

    Private

    Yes, but with no interaction

    Hybrid

    Yes, but with no interaction

    Public

    Yes

     

    Maintain ownership of external communities

    Private

    You can:

    • Delete the community
    • Manage existing memberships
    • Promote users to be moderators or owners

    You can’t:

    • Edit the community or posts
    • Approve new members

    Hybrid

    You can:

    • Delete the community
    • Manage existing memberships
    • Promote users to be moderators or owners
    • You can’t:

      • Edit the community or posts
      • Approve new members

    Public

    Yes

     

    See external content on my Home page and in my circle streams

    Private

    Yes


    Note: External content only appears if you could already see it before having your access set to Private. For example, you’ll still see posts from communities, collections, and people you were following.

    Hybrid

    Yes

    Public

    Yes

     

    Add external people to circles

    Private

    No

    Hybrid

    Yes

    Public

    Yes

     

    Get notifications from external communities

    Private

    Yes

    Hybrid

    Yes

    Public

    Yes